Second Harvest Foodbank & Bourbon St. Grille

On Tuesday, November 11, AAF Madison invites you to help Second Harvest Foodbank. We will be meeting there and working from 4 to 6 p.m. As a volunteer, you will be getting food and other products ready for distribution to their partner agencies. This includes, but is not limited to, sorting pre-packaged food, packaging bulk food to individual packaging, and labeling and boxing items. Afterwards, we plan to go to Bourbon Street Grille (6312 Metropolitan Lane, Monona) for cocktails and dinner (on your own tab). We hope you will join us.

Please register on our website with this link: Second Harvest November 2014. We welcome your co-workers to join us. We can comfortably have 10-13 volunteers. Please read more about this event including Second Harvest Warehouse Rules, forms you need to bring with you and a location map under our events page. Volunteers are absolutely critical to their efforts to end hunger in southwestern Wisconsin.


November Meeting

On Monday, November 17, we'll be at The Sheraton Madison Hotel, 706 John Nolen Drive, Madison. Ryan Reis from MillerCoors will be our guest speaker. The meeting begins at 11:30 with a buffet lunch and the program will start around noon. We try to get you back on the road to work at 1:00. Please register by Wednesday, November 12. Registration link coming soon. Guests are welcome to attend this meeting. The guest fee is $35 if registered by November 12 (after this date a $5 late fee will apply.) Our Bronze Sponsor for this event is Big Shoes Midwest.

Second Harvest will be stopping by to briefly share how Second Harvest Food Bank and it's sponsors help so many families in southwestern Wisconsin. We encourage you to bring a non-perishable food donation to the meeting going directly to Second Harvest. Thank you for being part of the solution.

The title of his program will be Miller Lite: Restoring an Authentic Brand. Miller Lite is in the midst of a resurgence, driven by the popularity of it's original graphics. Learn how design can transform consumer perceptions by "marketing without marketing." Find out how Miller is tapping into the authentic history of Miller Lite to restore a brand that appeals to Milennials.

 At MillerCoors, Ryan Reis leads the marketing team for the Miller Family of Brands. He oversees advertising, planning, packaging, innovations, and digital marketing for brands that total over $2 billion in sales.  During his eight years with MillerCoors, he has held other marketing positions and a sales assignment where he led his team to win “Supplier of the Year” from one of MillerCoors’ top chain customers. Prior to MillerCoors, Ryan worked in brand management and insights for Unilever on such brands as Suave, Axe, and Degree, and as a consultant at the firm of Sergio Zyman, former CMO of Coca-Cola.  He began his career as an AC Nielsen onsite consultant at General Mills. He is a proud Badger (BBA ’99) and also has an MBA from Northwestern’s Kellogg School of Management.


Honoring Don Stoffels


At our recent October Meeting our AAF Madison Trustees honored Don Stoffels for his many years of service to the MAF Foundation as a trustee, his years of work with the NSAC and his long time membership in AAF Madison. Pictured left to right: Michael Knapstein, Annette Knapstein (past Trustee), Don Stoffels, Georgia Roeming and Bill Kennedy.


Scholarship Recipients


Our AAF Madison Trustees presented $1,000 checks to the following 2014 scholarship recipients: Natalie Baumann, Cassandra Gress, Katherine Griswold, Ashley Martin and Kaley Setzke.


Sad Farewell - August 25, 1949 - August 17, 2014

On Sunday, August 17, the advertising community and greater Madison area lost a dear friend. Si Rogers passed away from an apparent heart attack. Si was the 2014 Silver Medalist and had served on the board several times. His great smile and sense of humor were just two of his trademarks. Donations can be made to Blessed Sacrament or Edgewood High School.