2018 Silver Medal Award

Congratulations to Sara McCormack, our 2018 Silver Medal Award Recipient!

We honored Sara at the Silver Medal Award Reception and during the ADDY Show on Saturday, February 24th at Union South. We enjoyed a video produced by Backflip that included highlights from Sara's life and career journey. Watch the video here: Sara McCormack Silver Medal Video. Sara shared her acceptance speech and was presented the Silver Medal Award and proclamations from Governor Walker and Mayor Soglin. Thanks to those of you who joined us in celebration and congratulating Sara on this fantastic achievement.

A bit more about Sara.......
Sara is a native of Fort Wayne and Lake Gage, Indiana, and graduate of Ball State University.  She began her career as a copywriter at a small-town Indiana radio station. She moved to Madison in 1980 and worked at The Bank of Middleton as the marketing coordinator for two years. It was a great entry level position, as she had the opportunity to dabble in many areas of marketing:  advertising creative and copywriting, media buying, promotions, public relations and event planning. She moved on to Waldbillig & Besteman Advertising in 1983, where she spent seven years in media buying.

She entered broadcasting sales at WMTV, the local NBC affiliate. She started as an account executive in 1990, before being promoted to local sales manager in 1993, national sales manager in 1996 and general sales manager in 2001.

In 2007, Sara’s role was expanded to a regional capacity for parent company Gray Television, and she became the national sales manager for WMTV Madison, WEAU Eau Claire, WIFR Rockford and WSAW / WZAW Wausau. Sara recently retired from Gray Television after 27 years of service.

During her years at WMTV, she became actively involved with MAF and served on its board for six years, then served on the 8th district board for another three.

Over the years she has been active at Good Shepherd Lutheran Church, where she served on the board and executive committee, as a Stephen Minister, and as president of the Women of Good Shepherd.  She participated in the Madison Marathon in 2016 to raise money for clean water in Africa through Team World Vision. She currently volunteers with the Women of Vision in serving the disadvantaged on local, national and international projects. 

In retirement, Sara is currently working on perfecting her third shot drop in pickleball, volunteering in various capacities at church and spending more time with family and friends. She is also contemplating her next travel adventure.

The American Advertising Federation's Silver Medal Award was established in 1959 to recognize men and women who have made outstanding contributions to advertising and who have been active in furthering the industry's standards, creative excellence and responsibility in areas of social concern. Annually, AAF member clubs bestow this honor upon outstanding members of the local advertising community. Silver Medal recipients are selected by a panel of judges from AAF Madison.

Candidate’s qualification criteria should include:
• Contribution to Their Company - The recipient must have achieved success in one of the following areas of work: advertising agency, advertiser, media or advertising service.
• Creative Ability - The recipient must have shown a consistent, high degree of original thinking in their field.
• Contributions to the General Advancement of Advertising - The recipient must have worked to increase the stature and raise the standards of the advertising profession.
• Contributions to the Community - The recipient should be someone who has been active in civic, religious, or other groups dedicated to human or social welfare.

Silver Medal Award Recipients Hall of Fame

This year's Silver Medal Award Recipient joins a long list of amazing individuals that have had and continue to have a profound impact on our industry. We applaud you all, once again, for your commitment, passion, perseverance and leadership.

2018 Sara McCormack
2017 Andy Wallman
2016 David Sanks
2015 Roderick (Rod) Ritcherson
2014 Si Rogers
2013 Scott Cooper
2012 Bob Boelter
2011 Rick Stone
2010 Sandy Weisberger
2009 Ted Knupp
2008 Dick Zillman
2007 Bill Kennedy
2006 Peter Mortenson
2005 Barry Burne
2004 Michael Knapstein & Annette Knapstein
2003 Jim Sendecke & Minnie Schiro
2002 Georgia Roeming
2001 Bill Haight
2000 Roman Hiebing
1999 Glenn Rindfleisch
1998 William Waldbillig
1997 Marsha Lindsay
1996 Terry Shockley
1995 Rod Barelman
1994 John Robertson
1993 Carl Ames
1992 Gail Selk
1991 Nicholas Topitzes
1989 John Rustad
1988 Robert Besteman
1987 Robert Salisbury
1986 Floyd Carlstrom
1984 Bob Rohr
1982 Dave Mergen
1981 Larry Landgraf
1980 Don Stoffels
1979 Celest Regenberg
1977 Dave Carman
1976 Bob Loomer
1975 Hugh Brady
1974 Ronnie Deane
1972 Tom Bolger
1971 Richard Hagen
1970 Martin Wolman
1968 Thomas Towell
1967 Jack Stephan
1964 William Scrivner
1963 Ben F. Hovel
1962 S. Watson Dunn
1960 William B. Walrath